By: Kendyll Currin July 23, 2016

Cody Heffernan earned his first PBR Australia title and now looks to return to the BFTS.


  • Cody Heffernan accomplished his goal of winning his first PBR Australia title Saturday night in Sydney.
  • With a national title now under his belt, Heffernan will return to the U.S. to compete in the second half of the BFTS and qualify for World Finals.
  • Brazil's Robinson Guedes won the event with a 3-for-3 performance while Bradie Gray picked up Rookie of the Year honors. 



SYDNEY, Australia – Cody Heffernan topped off his stellar year by claiming the 2016 PBR Australia National Champion Saturday night at a sold out Qudos Bank Arena.

Heffernan emerged tops among the country’s best bull riders, and select international riders from the USA and Brazil, who went up against Australia’s best bucking bulls for one huge night of the toughest sport on dirt.

Heffernan had a stellar start to the 2016 season, which included back and forth travel between events in Australia and the United States to compete in the PBR’s top-flight Built Ford Tough Series. Heffernan returned to Australia, though, determined to win his first Australian title.

PBR CEO Sean Gleason said Heffernan has shown time and time again that he has what it takes to compete on a worldwide stage and was clearly one of the best bull riders Australia has to offer.

“With the PBR World Finals in Las Vegas only months away, this event is a very important stop for any cowboy wanting to qualify,” said Gleason.

Heffernan, who is already ranked in the Top 35 in the world, will now return to the U.S. to compete in the BFTS which kicks off its second half in Nashville with the Music City Knockout, presented by Cooper Tires, Aug. 19-20.

Also among the winners Saturday night was the 19-year-old cowboy from Tamworth, NSW, Bradie Gray who was crowned the Kersh Concreting Rookie of the Year. Troy and Holly Keliher’s bull, Hillbilly Deluxe, won Bucking Bull of the Year, and TNR Bucking Bull’s Enemies Everywhere won Classic Bull of the year.

For the second year in a row, Robson Guedes (Brazil) won the National Finals event average after a 3-for-3 performance. Lachlan RichardsonJustin Paton and Mitch Paton rounded out the Top 4.

“Sydney has been an exceptional host for the Australian National Finals and proves the PBR has the most passionate fans in the world. We’re looking forward to continuing our growth in Australia and the return to Sydney in 2017,” Gleason said. 

Tickets for the 2017 PBR Nationals Finals are now on sale through .

The Winners

2016 PBR Australian Champion Bull Rider – Cody Heffernan
2016 PBR Australia Champion Bucking Bull – Hillbilly Deluxe – Troy & Holly Keliher
2016 Kersh Concreting Rookie of the Year – Bradie Gray
2016 PBR Australia Classic Bucking Bull – Enemies Everywhere – TNR Bucking Bulls 

2016 PBR Australia final standings

1. Cody Heffernan - 4979.0 pts
2. Lachlan Richardson - 3337.5 pts
3. Justin Paton - 2652.5 pts
4. Roy Dunn - 1835.8 pts
5. Damien Herden - 1592.5 pts
6. Robson Guedes - 1537.5. pts
7. Cristiano Cunha - 1440.0 pts
8. Fraser Babbington - 1385.0 pts
9. Kurt Shephard - 1287.5 pts
10. Mitch Paton - 1287.5 pts

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.