WPCA Update: Doug Irvine wins in Medicine Hat

 

2016 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede ChampionsB & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. Outfit(L-R): Driver Doug Irvine, Outriders Chance Flad, Rory GervaisPhoto By Joanne Melville

 

The third stop on the WPCA Pro Tour is in the books as the finals of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede wrapped up on Sunday afternoon on a fantastic racetrack and a classic championship final heat that featured Kurt Bensmiller, Jason Glass and Doug Irvine. When the dust settled on what was an extremely exciting final, it was Doug Irvine, driving the B & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. outfit, and along with outriders Rory Gervais and Chance Flad who captured the 2016 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede Championship.

From barrel position number two in a penalty free championship final heat number 12, Irvine edged out reigning World and Calgary Stampede champion Kurt Bensmiller, by just 14 one-hundredths of a second from barrel position number three, with Jason Glass placing third from barrel number one. It’s the third career victory for driver Doug Irvine, and the first time he has won the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede championship.

On the night, from barrel number 2 in the ninth heat, “Lightening” Luke Tournier piloted his Perlich Bros Auction Mart Outfit to top money for the day after posting a 1:01.17 and won the day money by 18 one-hundreds of a second over champion Dough Irvine, with Kurt Bensmiller, Troy Dorchester and Mitch Sutherland making out the top five fastest wagons on the night.

The WPCA Pro Tour presented now moves onto Guy Weadick Days starting on Thursday June 23, 2016 and running and running through to Sunday, June 26, 2016. Catch all the action on WPCA Pro Tour LIVE starting Thursday night, June 23, 2016 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville


ShareThis