Strathmore Stampede WPCA Chuckwagons Wrap - Day Three

Mike Vigen (L) & Doug Irvine (R) Dead Heat For Day Money On Day 3 In Strathmore
Photos By Carol Easton

Arnie Jackson recaps Day Three of WPCA Chuckwagon Racing from the Strathmore Stampede

 

 

Doug Irvine and Mike Vigen Dead Heat For Day Money On Day 3 Of The Strathmore Stampede

It was an off racetrack, but a sunny day as day 3 of the Strathmore Stampede was run on a Heritage Day Monday afternoon. In a rare occurrence, Doug Irvine and Mike Vigen were involved in a dead heat, and split the day money after posting times of 1:17.93.

In the sixth heat of the afternoon, Irvine’s B & R Eckel's Transport Ltd. from barrel position number 4, and Vigen’s SPR Construction outfit from barrel number 3, were involved in a very rare dead heat, and split top money on the day, just 1 one-hundredth of a second faster than Rae Croteau Jr.’s outfit driven by Kirk Sutherland. Roger Moore and Codey McCurrach filled out the top 5 on the afternoon.

With just one run to go to determine the 2016 Strathmore Stampede Champion, Gary Gorst now moves to the top of the leaderboard with a 3-run total of 3:50.45. Gorst sits 55 one-hundredths of a second ahead of John Walters, with Rick Fraser in third, Doug Irvine in fourth and Codey McCurrach completing the top five after three runs. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will be crowned the 2016 Strathmore Heritage Days Stampede champion.

The finals of the Strathmore Stampede will conclude on Tuesday night, August 2, at 9:00pm ET, 8:00pm CT and 7:00pm MT and can be heard on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, as well as Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville