Final Four Set For 2016 Grande Prairie Stompede Final

Troy Dorchester - Number 1 On Night 4 In Grande Prairie
Photo By Carol Easton

Night 4 of the Grande Prairie Stompede was the final night for the drivers to try and qualify for Sunday’s Championship Final Heat. It’s the first leg of the Sierra Cup series presented by GMC where the winner of Sunday’s final will receive a $25,000.00 winner’s cheque, a new GMC Truck, and the 2016 Grande Prairie Stompede Championship. When the aggregate times were calculated Troy Dorchester, Kelly Sutherland, Kurt Bensmiller, and John Walters will be the four drivers bidding for the championship.

Troy Dorchester, driving the Lafarge Canada Ltd./PureChem Services outfit, qualified for Sunday’s final in first place overall with a four-day combined time of 5:08.71 and will receive the Ralph Vigen Memorial Award for having the best aggregate time. Kelly Sutherland moved up into second place overall, 2.55 seconds behind the aggregate winner Dorchester, with Kurt Bensmiller holding on to third place overall and John Walters grabbing the fourth and final place in Sunday’s final. Defending Grande Prairie Stompede champion Obrey Motowylo missed out of the final four, finishing fifth overall and missing the championship final by just 8 one-hundredths of a second. Day 3 aggregate leader Jason Glass received a 5 second penalty for knocking over a barrel and missed the championship final by just 29 one-hundredths of a second.

On the night, Troy Dorchester posted the fast time of a rainy night from barrel four in the fourth heat. Dorchester’s PureChem Services outfit placed first on the day by just 1 one-hundredth of a second over Obrey Motowylo, with Codey McCurrach, Logan Gorst and Chanse Vigen filling out the top five on the night.

The final day of the Grande Prairie Stompede can be heard live Sunday night, May 29, 2016 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central, 7:30pm Mountain Time.

 Billy Melville