WPCA Update: Championship Final set in Medicine Hat

Colt Cosgrave - Number 1 On Night 3 In Medicine HatPhoto By Carol Easton


Even after some brief afternoon rain, racetrack conditions were fast for day 3 of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede. It was the final night for the drivers to try and qualify for the championship final heat on Sunday afternoon. When the afternoon was complete Kurt Bensmiller, Jason Glass and Doug Irvine will be the three drivers bidding for the championship.

Kurt Benmsiller, driving the Tsuu T’ina Nation outfit, qualified for championship final in first place overall with a three-day combined time of 3:04.81. Former Medicine Hat Champion Jason Glass grabbed second place overall, 92 one-hundredths of a second behind the aggregate leader Bensmiller, with 2015 Battle of the Rockies champion Doug Irvine grabbing the third and final qualifying spot in Monday’s final. Defending champion John Walters was in the crying hole, placing fourth overall and missed the winner-take-all final by just 13 one-hundredths of a second, with Luke Tournier rounding out the top five overall.

As far as day results are concerned, Colt Cosgrave had the fast time of the night from barrel one in the eleventh heat. Cosgrave’s Trinidad Drillingoutfit won top day money by 21 one-hundredths of a second over Doug Irvine. Logan Gorst placed third, while Jason Glass and Layne MacGillivray placed fourth and fifth respectively on the night.

The finals of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede can be heard live on Sunday afternoon, June 19, 2016 starting at 4:00pm Eastern, 8:3 Central, and 2:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville