Colt Cosgrave Opens The 2016 Ponoka Strampede With The Top Time


Colt Cosgrave - Day Money Run On Night One In Ponoka
Photo By Carol Easton

Tuesday night saw the running of the first leg of chuckwagon racing’s unofficial “Triple Crown” at one of chuckwagon racing’s biggest and most prestigious events – the Ponoka Stampede. Weather and track conditions were outstanding, and it was an entertaining evening of racing for the Ponoka Stampede fans. Colt Cosgrave opened up the 2016 Ponoka Stampede with the fast time of the night with a 1:14.88.

Coming off barrel number 2 in the 7th heat, Cosgrave - driving the High River Autoplex & RV outfit - placed first on the night by 34 one-hundredths of a second over former Ponoka Stampede Champion Roger Moore. Last week’s Guy Weadick Days Champion Mark Sutherland placed third, with “the Hound” Codey McCurrach and Luke Tournier rounding out the top five for the night.

The top 8 in the aggregate after Friday night’s run will go into the semi-final round on Saturday in heats 8 and 9. The top 4 times from the semi-final round on July 2 will go into the $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Sudden Death Championship final heat where the winner will take home the 2016 Ponoka Stampede Championship.

Day 2 of the Ponoka Stampede Championship can be heard on WPCA Pro Tour LIVE on Wednesday night, June 29, 2016 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville