WNFR daily news and notes, Dec. 7


Emma Walker will perform the national anthem, while future rodeo entertainers will comprise the opening act on Tough Enough To Wear Pink Night. Montana Silversmiths is the performance sponsor. Today is Wrangler NFR General Manager Shawn Davis’ 75thbirthday. Today has been proclaimed “Shawn Davis Day” by the city of Las Vegas.


Tonight’s Wrangler NFR presented by Polaris RANGER will be televised live and in HD on CBS Sports Net (DISH Network channel 158 and DirecTV channel 221) from 7-10 p.m. PT with Jeff Medders and Butch Knowles announcing, Joe Beaver and Don Gay providing commentary, Suzanne Alexander hosting the pre-show and Kadee Coffman as the sideline reporter. All 10 performances of the 2015 Wrangler NFR will be available live with a video-on-demand option via pay-per-view exclusively in Canada, Brazil, Mexico and Australia. ProRodeo Live is airing coverage on a network of radio stations, including Rural Radio, and also online at www.prorodeolive.com with Steve Kenyon the lead announcer.


Entering Round 5, Trevor Brazile has a lead of $177,826 over JoJo LeMond and $185,990 on Tuf Cooper in the all-around race and tonight could clinch his 13th all-around gold buckle (23rd overall) under a variety of scenarios. The most straightforward? If LeMond and Cooper both fail to win a check tonight, their maximum earnings the rest of the way (winning the last five rounds and the average) would be $198,424, so Brazile would need to earn checks totaling $20,599 tonight to close it out. Second place pays $20,731, so finishing in the top two in either team roping or tie-down roping would do the job, and any combination of top four finishes in those events would as well. If LeMond and/or Cooper do win checks, Brazile would have to earn enough in his two events to finish the evening with a lead of more than $198,424.


The Wrangler NFR’s Exceptional Rodeo, now in its 33rd year, was held this morning at the Las Vegas Convention Center, allowing dozens of Las Vegas-area special-needs children to experience the world of rodeo. From roping and bulldogging, barrel racing and bull riding and even riding a real horse, the kids are able to live their dreams of being a ProRodeo contestant, if only for a short time, with some of the best of the sport of rodeo. Clad in cowboy hats, commemorative t-shirts and seemingly endless smiles, the kids had a blast at the hour-long rodeo.


There were two changes at the top of the world standings on Sunday night, with one regular-season champion dropping out of first place and another moving back to No. 1. A fourth-place result in the saddle bronc riding allowed Jacobs Crawley to bump Cody DeMoss out of the top spot and assure that event would have its third world standings leader in as many nights. Wade Sundell knocked DeMoss out of first in Round 2 and then DeMoss retook the lead in Round 3, before surrendering it to Crawley. Tuf Cooper regained his hold on first place in the world standings by tying for third in the tie-down roping Sunday. Shifts in the lead have been a staple of this 57th annual WNFR. Only bull rider Sage Kimzey has enough of a lead to be assured of still being atop the world standings at the end of the night. 


Four-time World Champion Bareback Rider Bobby Mote is first out of the chutes tonight aboard the amazingly athletic Dirty Jacket of Pete Carr Pro Rodeo, who has won Bareback Horse of the Year the last two seasons. Dirty Jacket carried Ryan Gray to the season’s highest-scored ride of 92 points at the West of the Pecos (Texas) Rodeo. At the 2014 Wrangler NFR, Dirty Jacket carried Richmond Champion to the Round 5 win (88.5 points) and helped Caleb Bennett win Round 10 (86.5). Jake Brown will also have a great chance for a big score as he drew Calgary Stampede’s Special Delivery, who tied for third in the 2015 Bareback Horse of the Year voting. Special Delivery helped Trenton Montero to an 88.5-point ride at the Innisfail (Alberta) ProRodeo and Mote rode the horse for 88 points at the Farm-City ProRodeo in Hermiston, Ore. Clint Cannon is aboard Wayne Vold Rodeo’s Mucho Dinero, which went for 89 points with Ty Taypotat to win the Grande Prairie (Alberta) Stompede. Red-hot Steven Peebles, who shared the Round 4 win with world standings leader Kaycee Feild, hopes that Pickett Pro Rodeo’s Shady Nights can help him earn a fourth straight victory lap … The saddle bronc riding pen is one of the best in memory and Jacobs Crawley, who took over the world standings lead by finishing fourth in Round 4, is aboard Frontier Rodeo’s Medicine Woman, who is Saddle Bronc Horse of the Year for the second consecutive season. Cody DeMoss, who has led the saddle bronc riding standings most of 2015, trails Crawley by $4,696 and is also aboard a great horse in Burch Rodeo’s Lunatic From Hell, who was third in the Saddle Bronc Horse of the Year voting. Medicine Woman carried Isaac Diaz to the year’s second-highest scored ride of 93 points and the arena record at the Dodge City (Kan.) Roundup Rodeo and helped Spencer Wright to a 92-point ride at the Arcadia All-Florida Championship Rodeo. DeMoss rode Lunatic From Hell – who had four rides for at least 89 points – for 89 points to win the Wrangler Champions Challenge presented by Justin Boots in Cody, Wyo. Crawley had the top ride on Lunatic From Hell with 92 points to win the Clovis (Calif.) Rodeo. Round 1 winner Wade Sundell is aboard Flying Five Rodeo’s Spring Planting, who shared 2013 Horse of the Year honors with Frontier Rodeo’s Maple Leaf, who is matched with Spencer Wright, the reigning world champ … Shane Proctor is matched against Corey & Lange Rodeo’s Mr. Buddy, who carried Parker Breding to 90 points at the North Idaho Fair & Rodeo. Breding, who won Round 1 and is in second place behind Sage Kimzey in the world standings, drew Big Rafter Rodeo’s Salty Dog, who helped Cameron Bland to 90 points at the Parker County Frontier Days and PRCA Rodeo in Weatherford, Texas. Kody DeShon is matched with Pete Carr’s Classic Pro Rodeo’s Rattler, who has been ridden just once in 36 career outs, that by Joe Frost, who went for 85.5 points to win Round 1 in 2014. Kimzey, who is second in the average, drew Kesler Rodeo’s Grand Slam, who has been ridden four times in PRCA competition and all four rides went for at least 85 points.


Record times and scores for the fifth round of the WNFR:

Bareback riding:          91.5 points, Bobby Mote, 2008 (equal to the arena record)

Steer wrestling:           3.0 seconds, Steve Duhon, 1986 (equal to the arena record)

Team roping:               3.6 seconds, Garrett Tonozzi/Kinney Harrell, 2008; JoJo LeMond/Cory Petska, 2010

Saddle bronc riding:   93 points, Billy Etbauer, 2003 (also arena record)

Tie-down roping:        6.9 seconds, Cody Ohl, 2010; Trevor Brazile, 2010

Barrel racing:               13.46 seconds, Carlee Pierce, 2011

Bull riding:                  91.5 points, Ryan Brown, 2003