John Walters Takes Top Time On Night 3 Of The Grande Prairie Stompede

John Walters - Wins Top Money On Night 3 Of The Grande Prairie Stompere
Photo By Carol Easton

It was a cool 11°C with some light rains on day three of the Grande Prairie Stompede, but it didn’t dampen the enthusiasm of the Grande Prairie chuckwagon fans. When the night wrapped up, John Walters toured the half mile of hell in a 1:16.89 to take top dollar on the third night of racing.

Coming off barrel number 2 in heat number 7, Walters, driving the R/T Rentals outfit placed first overall for the day by a mere 4 one-hundredths of a second faster than opening night top driver Jason Glass. Evan Salmond was third, injured driver Cliff Cunningham’s outfit, handled by Jess Willard won fourth, while Kurt Bensmiller rounded out the fifth best time on the night.

With one run to go to try and qualify for Sunday’s championship final, Jason Glass regains top spot in the aggregate with a three-day combined time of 3:49.68. Troy Dorchester falls one spot and sits in second place overall, 1.56 seconds behind the overall leader,  Dorchester, with reigning World Champion Kurt Bensmiller in third and Kelly Sutherland making out the top four after three runs. Day 3 day money winner John Walters is in the crying hole for now, in fifth place overall, 71 one-hundredths of a second outside the top four and a spot in Sunday’s final.

The Grande Prairie Stompede is the first leg of the Sierra Cup series presented by GMC. The top wagon in the aggregate after four runs will receive the Ralph Vigen Memorial Award. The top 4 drivers in the aggregate after tomorrow night will go into the championship final heat on Sunday where the winner will receive a $25,000.00 winner’s cheque, a new GMC Truck, and the Grande Prairie Stompede Championship.

Day four of the Grande Prairie Stompede can be heard live Saturday night, May 28, 2016 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central, 7:30pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville