Rookie Driver Cody Fraser Takes 1st Career WPCA Day Money On Night 3 Of The Ponoka Stampede


Cody Fraser - 1st Career WPCA Day Money On Night 3 In Ponoka
Photo By Shellie Scott

Even after a tornado warning and on and off rains all afternoon at the Ponoka Stampede, by the time the wagons rolled, night 3 still produced some good running times and exciting chuckwagon races in front of a nearly full capacity crowd.  When times were tabulated for the night, it was rookie driver Cody Fraser who emerged as the day money winner after posting a 1:15.01 from barrel number 3 in the opening heat.

Fraser’s time was 6 one-hundredths of a second faster than former Ponoka Champion Jason Glass who placed second in the third performance. Jess Willard and John Walters followed in third and fourth place respectively, with Jordie Fike completing out the top five on the night. It’s the first day money run for the rookie on the WPCA Pro Tour.

In the race for the top eight, “The Hound” Codey McCurrach and his Enerplus Corp. outfit continues to lead the overall aggregate with a three run total of 3:46.71. That puts him 20 one-hundreds of a second ahead of Mark Sutherland, with Cody Fraser, Luke Tournier and Obrey Motowylo in close pursuit. Colt Cosgrave, Mike Vigen, and Rae Croteau Jr. complete the top 8, with Jason Glass and Gary Gorst just on the outside looking in.

The top 8 in the aggregate after Friday night’s run will go into the semi-final round on Saturday night in heats 8 and 9. The top 4 times from the semi-final round on July 2 will go into the $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Sudden Death Championship final heat where the winner will take home the 2016 Ponoka Stampede Championship.

Day 4 of the Ponoka Stampede Championship can be heard on WPCA Pro Tour LIVE on Friday night, July 1, 2016 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville