WPCA Update: Kurt Bensmiller wins night two in Medicine Hat

 

It was a perfect night of racing on night 2 of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede. Racetrack conditions were excellent and some outstanding chuckwagon races were witnessed by a near capacity crowd. When the night wrapped up, reigning World Champion Chuckwagon Driver Kurt Bensmiller had the fast time of the race meet so far with a penalty free run of 1:00.47.

Coming off barrel number 3 in heat number 10, Bensmiller, driving the Tsuu T’ina outfit placed first overall for the day by 1 full second over Mark Sutherland who placed 2nd on the night. Defending Medicine Hat champion John Walters was third, with Vern Nolin and Cody Ridsdale rounding out the top 5 fastest times for the night.

After 2 runs, Kurt Bensmiller leads the overall aggregate standings with a total time of 2:03.07. That puts him 64 one-hundredths of a second better than lst week’s Saskatoon winner Vern Nolin. Mark Sutherland sits third, followed closely Jason Glass and Gary Gorst in fourth and fifth place respectively.

The top 3 drivers in the aggregate standings after Saturday night will go into Sunday’s winner-take-all championship final heat. Winner of Sunday’s final wins the 2016 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede Championship.

Day 3 of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede can be heard live on Saturday, June 18, 2016 starting at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 80 or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville


ShareThis