By: Heather Croze 


  • Nathan Schaper won Round 1 of the BFTS Battle at the Beau with an 87.25-point ride on I Get That.
  • Gage Gay, Tyler Harr, J.B. Mauney and Joao Ricardo Vieira rounded out the Top 5.
  • Three-time World Champion Silvano Alves was bucked off by Flip Out in his return to the BFTS following April hip surgery.


BILOXI, Miss. – In the PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) opening event of the second half of the 2015 Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) season, No. 5 ranked PBR rider Nathan Schaper put up 87.25 points to win Round 1 of the PBR’s Battle at the Beau, brought to you locally by Sonic, on Friday night at Mississippi Coast Coliseum.

Schaper’s 8-second ride aboard I Get That (5G Farms/Rotenberger) earned him 100 points toward the world standings points for the Round 1 win.

Gage Gay’s 86.25 points on Percy (Rocking I Rodeo Co.) was enough for him to finish in second place, earning 60 world points. Tyler Harr, a last minute replacement for the recently injured Stetson Lawrence, took third place in the round with 86 points on What Up Sucka (JD Nix Rodeo Co.) and received 50 world points for the finish.

2013 PBR World Champion J.B. Mauney picked up 40 world points for his fourth-place finish after an 85.75-point ride on Bad Deal (JD Nix Rodeo Co.). World leader Joao Ricardo Vieira finished in fifth place with an 85-point ride on Drunk Chicken (Universal Rodeo) to receive 30 world points.

Reigning World Champion Silvano Alves was bucked off by Flip Out in his return to the BFTS after undergoing hip surgery in April.

Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Battle at the Beau will take place Saturday at 7 p.m. CT. The round will air on CBS Sports Network, the home of the PBR, on Sunday, Aug. 9, at 6 p.m. ET.

Fans can also catch each night of the action on PBR LIVE via PBR LIVE is now available at no charge to all fans and media.

Biloxi is one of 27 cities visited on the 2015 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The season kicked off Jan. 2-4 at the Royal Farms Arena in Baltimore, Maryland, and will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 21-25 where the 2015 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who has earned the most points during the 2015 season, will be crowned, receive the coveted World Championship belt and a $1 million bonus. Tickets and additional information about the World Finals can be found at

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network – the home of the PBR - and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

2015 Professional Bull Riders – Battle at the Beau
Biloxi, Mississippi – Mississippi Coast Coliseum
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Nathan Schaper, 87.25-0-0-87.25-100 Points.
2. Gage Gay, 86.25-0-0-86.25-60 Points.
3. Tyler Harr, 86-0-0-86.00-50 Points.
4. J.B. Mauney, 85.75-0-0-85.75-40 Points.
5. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 85-0-0-85.00-30 Points.
6. Tanner Byrne, 84.25-0-0-84.25
7. Fabiano Vieira, 84-0-0-84.00
8. Ben Jones, 83.25-0-0-83.25
9. Mike Lee, 83-0-0-83.00
10. Eduardo Aparecido, 79.75-0-0-79.75
Matt Triplett, 0-0-0-0.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0-0-0.00
J.W. Harris, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0-0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Renato Nunes, 0-0-0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0-0-0.00
Mason Lowe, 0-0-0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0-0-0.00
Aaron Roy, 0-0-0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0.00
Robson Aragao, 0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0.00
Bonner Bolton, 0-0-0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0-0-0.00
Michael Lane, 0-0-0-0.00
Alexandre Cardozo, 0-0-0-0.00
Douglas Duncan, 0-0-0-0.00
Neil Holmes, 0-0-0-0.00
Justin Paton, 0-0-0-0.00
Sean Willingham, 0-0-0-0.00
Emilio Resende, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.