EVAN SALMOND TAKES DAY MONEY ON NIGHT 2 OF THE BATTLE OF THE NORTH

Evan Salmond - Bests All On Night 2 In Dawson Creek
Photo By Paul Easton

Early morning rains made for some off racetrack conditions, but when the races at the Battle of the North were run off the sun was shining and it was very comfortable for the Dawson Creek chuckwagon fans. When the night wrapped up, Evan Salmond, driving the Petrotranz outfit, was the fast man on the night after a run of 1:17.61.

From barrel number 2 in the 7th heat, Salmond beat day 1 winner Rae Croteau Jr. by 35 one-hundredths of a second to take the day money. Mark Sutherland placed third, Luke Tournier was fourth and John Walters, even with a 1 second late outrider penalty, still cracked the top five on the night.

After two days, Rae Croteau Jr.’s TOMCO Group of Companies outfit leads the overall aggregate standings with a two day aggregate time of 2:31.96. Luke Tournier sits second, 75 one-hundredths of a second behind the overall leader Rae Croteau. Evan Salmond moved into 3rd place overall, and Gary Gorst sits in that ever so important 4th place overall. Cliff Cunningham is in 5th place overall, 36 one-hundredths of a second out of 4th place overall.

The Battle of the North is part of the GMC Sierra Cup Series. The top 4 drivers in the aggregate after Saturday’s run will go into the winner-take-all championship final heat where the winner will take home a 2015 GMC Sierra truck, a big bonus cheque, and the 2015 Battle of the North Championship.

Night 3 of the Battle of the North Championship from Dawson Creek, British Columbia for the Battle of the North can be heard live on Friday night, August 7, 2015 starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central and 7:30pm Mountain Time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 80, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville

Billy Melville