RAE CROTEAU JR, OPENS UP THE 2015 BATTLE OF THE NORTH

Overcast skies and the threat of heavy rains looked inevitable at the Battle of the North as the WPCA Pro Tour by embarked on Mile “0” of the Alaska Highway in Dawson Creek, British Columbia. The rains held off until after the nightly were complete, and 4-time Dawson Creek finalist Rae Croteau Jr., driving the TOMCO Group of Companies outfit, emerged with the fast time of the night with a 1:14.00.

From barrel number 2 in the 6th heat, Croteau bested Luke Tournier by 59 one-hundredths of a second. Gary Gorst continued his good run by placing third, Evan Salmond was fourth and defending champion Kirk Sutherland rounded out the top five on the night.

The Battle of the North is part of the GMC Sierra Cup Series. The top 4 drivers in the aggregate after Saturday’s run will go into the winner-take-all championship final heat where the winner will take home a 2015 GMC Sierra truck, a big bonus cheque, and the 2015 Battle of the North Championship.

Night 2 of the Battle of the North Championship from Dawson Creek, British Columbia for the Battle of the North can be heard live on Thursday night, August 6, 2015 starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central and 7:30pm Mountain Time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 80, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville