2015 Battle of the Rockies Champions
B & R Eckel's Transport Ltd. Outfit

(L-R): TOMCO Group of Companies Rod Tomyn Presenting,
Driver Doug Irvine, Outriders Chance Flad & Rory Gervais
Rocky Mountain Chuckwagon Association's Brad Smith and
WPCA' General Manager Tom Barrow Presenting
Photo By Billy Melville

The final day of the 2015 WPCA Pro Tour wrapped up on a sunny Sunday afternoon in Rocky Mountain House, Alberta with the championship final for the Battle of the Rockies championship. The final four running for the Battle of the Rockies championship included former Calgary Stampede Champion Chad Harden, rookie driver Dustin Gorst, former Ponoka Stampede champion Doug Irvine, and 4-time World Champion Chuckwagon Driver Jason Glass. In what was a thrilling race to end the 2015 season, Doug Irvine, driving the B & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. outfit, and along with outriders Chance Flad and Rory Gervais, who emerged as the champions of 2015 Battle of the Rockies. It’s the second career win for Doug Irvine, his first since winning the Ponoka Stampede in 2008.


Irvine had the fast time of the championship final heat and the afternoon after posting a penalty free run of 1:18.90 from barrel position number 4, and beat Jason Glass who ran off barrel number 1 by 2.16 seconds after Glass was tagged with a one second outrider penalty. Rookie driver Dustin Gorst, who was making his first appearance in a championship final, was third from barrel number 3, and Chad Harden placed fourth from barrel number 2.

In what was an exciting 2015 professional chuckwagon racing season, Kurt Bensmiller won his first career World Chuckwagon Championship, Chance Flad won his second consecutive World Outriding Championshipwith a record high point total. Equine outfit of Excellence winners included “Chief” of Kirk Sutherland’s outfit on Right Lead, “Comet” of Evan Salmond’s outfit on Left Lead, “Mootoo” of Jason Glass’ outfit on Right Wheel, “Baffert” of Colt Cosgrave’s outfit on Left Wheel, and “Boone” of Kurt Bensmiller’s outfit and “Victory” of Gary Gorst’s outfit were the champion Outriding Horses.

Congratulations to the 2015 World Champions, driver Kurt Bensmiller and outrider Chance Flad, and many thanks to all the corporate partners, broadcast partners, support staff and chuckwagon fans all along the 2015 WPCA Pro Tour. Enjoy a safe and prosperous off-season, and we will see you all in 2015.

Billy Melville