TROY FLAD IS NUMBER ONE ON NIGHT TWO AT THE BONNYVILLE CHUCKWAGON CHAMPIONSHIP

It was a beautiful summer evening in Bonnyville as night 2 of Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship was run under perfect weather and racetrack conditions. Some great chuckwagon races were witnessed by a capacity crowd for the second consecutive night, and when the night was capped, it was Troy Flad who took the top time of the night with a run of 1:15.90.

Coming off barrel number 4 in the 3rd heat, Flad, driving the Bonnyville Neighborhood Inn outfit was tops on the night by just 5 one-hundredths of a second over defending champion Rick Fraser. Kurt Benmsiller placed third, with Mitch Sutherland and Chad Fike rounding out the top five on the night.

After two days, defending champion Rick Fraser sits number one in the aggregate standings with a two run total of 2:31.70. That puts him 6 one-hundredths of a second in front of day 1 winner Luke Tournier, with Jason Glass, Mitch Sutherland and day 2 winner Troy Flad completing the top five overall after two nights.

The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2015 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship and the George Normand Memorial Buckle. In addition, the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Committee has come up with a new concept called the “Six Pack Track Attack,” a team concept where 6 drivers will share in a substantial prize pot.

Day 3 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship can be heard Saturday, July 25, 2015 starting at 8:30pm ET, 7:30pmCT, 6:30pmMT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 80, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville. Sunday’s races can be heard immediately following the finals of the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo at approximately 5:00pm ET, 4:00pm CT and 3:00pm MT.

Billy Melville