COLT COSGRAVE TAKES TOP MONEY ON NIGHT 3 AT THE BONNYVILLE CHUCKWAGON CHAMPIONSHIP

Capacity crowds have been the story of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship, as night 3 was run under extremely good weather and racetrack conditions. When the dust settled and the crowd stopped cheering, Colt Cosgrave, driving the MSK Ranch outfit who placed first on the night with the fast time of 1:15.84.

Coming off barrel number 2 in the 5th heat, Cosgrave won the day money by a mere 3 one-hundredths of a second over Ross Knight. Local heros Doug Irvine and Rae Croteau Jr. placed third and fourth respectively, with Roger Moore rounding out the top five on the night.

With one run to go to determine a champion, Luke Tournier has regained the lead in the overall aggregate standings with a two run total of 3:48.45. That puts him 65 one-hundredths of a second in front of Jason Glass, with Mitch Sutherland, Jordie Fike and Troy Flad completing the top five overall after three runs. Defending champion Rick Fraser, who was leading after two nights, knocked over a barrel and dropped out of contention.

The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after tomorrow’s run will be declared the champion of the 2015 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship and the George Normand Memorial Buckle. In addition, the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Committee has come up with a new concept called the “Six Pack Track Attack,” a team concept where 6 drivers will share in a substantial prize pot.

Grandpa Ray Croteau Sr, watches the races in style!

The final day of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship can be heard Sunday, July 26, 2015 immediately following Steve Kenyon’s coverage of the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 80, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville at approximately 5:00pm ET, 4:00pm CT and 3:00pm MT.

Billy Melville