LUKE TOURNIER OPENS UP THE 2015 BONNYVILLE CHUCKWAGON CHAMPIONSHIP WITH THE TOP TIME

After a two week break and a successful run at the Calgary Stampede GMC Rangeland Derby, the WPCA Pro Tour resumed on Bonnyville with the eighth running of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship. It was an overcast night but very pleasant for a near capacity crowd, and when night one wrapped up, it was Luke Tournier who won top money with a penalty free run of 1:14.95.

Coming off barrel number 4 in the 8th heat, Tournier, driving the SITE Energy Services Ltd. outfit was tops on the night by 28 one-hundredths of a second over Jason Glass who placed second on the night. Gary Gorst placed third, followed by Darcy Flad and defending Champion Rick Fraser rounding out the top five on the night.

The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2015 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship and the George Normand Memorial Buckle. In addition, the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Committee has come up with a new concept called the “Six Pack Track Attack,” a team concept where 6 drivers will share in a substantial prize pot.

Day 2 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship can be heard Friday, July 24, 2015 starting at 8:30pm ET, 7:30pmCT, 6:30pmMT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 80, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville. Sunday’s races can be heard immediately following the finals of the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo at approximately 5:00pm ET, 4:00pm CT and 3:00pm MT.

Billy Melville