Brian Hervey Leads Bull Riders Canada Standings


Bull Riders Canada Inc.
June 15th, 2015
Media Contact: Ted Stovin –
For Immediate Release


Ahead of the Pack

NEW SAREPTA, Alberta -- In the BRC's first season, Brian Hervey won the National Championship with a total of 2,645 points and earned $11,765.50 along the way.

In 2015, the BRC's third season, Hervey has now won over $14,260 and 2,750 points to this point.

The difference? We are only a third of the way into this season. With about 40 events left across the nation, the record books are going to look a bit different come October this year.

Hervey's win in Jim Thompson's backyard puts him just over $1,000 behind Josh Birks on the all-time money winner's list. In the past three years Birks has added $40,693.25 to his cash account from BRC events while Hervey has picked up $39,678.12.

$3,720 of the Brant, Alberta man's earnings came on Friday night courtesy of an 81.5 on Katie's Pet from Skori Bucking Bulls in the long go and an 86 on Thompson Rodeo's Fire Ant in the finals. As the only man to ride in that finals, $3,150 came from that round alone.

380 of the points in the standings came from Friday moving Brian 745 points ahead of Birks, who was competing at a PBR event in Wanham, AB on the same night. 1,590 points separate the number one man from number three Landon Lockhart of Manitoba.

Back to Buckin' in the Backyard, Ashton Arychuk took the second spot on the evening picking up $1,140 and moving to 31st in the standings courtesy of his long round winning 83.5 on Pipsqueak from the Rafter N string of bucking bulls.

Will Percell of Australia earned his first BRC money since landing in Canada in New Sarepta and Kyle Lozier picked up a few bucks from an 80 point effort in the long go to finish fourth.

Highlight brought to you by Ranchman’s Cookhouse and Dancehall Inc. in Calgary, Alberta.

Video courtesy of Holly Hervey.


Official results from the Buckin' in the Backyard BRC in Support of Wounded Warriors Canada in New Sarepta, AB on June 12th, 2015. 

Long go: 1. Ashton Arychuk on Rafter N's 087 Pipsqueak, 83.5 points, $1,140; 2. Will Percell, 83, $855; 3. Brian Hervey, 81.5, $570; 4. Kyle Lozier, 80, $285; 5. Armando Davila, 79; 6. Warlen Velton de Aquino, 78; no other qualified rides.

Finals: 1. Brian Hervey on Thompson Rodeo's 850 Fire Ant, 86 points, $3,150; no other qualified rides.

Aggregate and total money won: 1. Brian Hervey - Brant, AB - 167.5 points on two bulls, $3,720; 2. Ashton Arychuk - Lacombe, AB - 83.5 points on one bull, $1,140; 3. Will Percell - Merrijig, Australia - 83, $855; 4. Kyle Lozier - Williams Lake, BC - 80, $285; 5. Armando Davila - Satillo Coahuila, Mexico - 79; 6. Warlen Velton de Aquino - Sao Paulo, Brazil - 78.


The Buckin' the Backyard BRC in Support of Wounded Warriors Canada in New Sarepta, AB was the 21st event of the 2015 BRC season. Next up on the Bull Riders Canada Inc. are the Pomeroy Guitars & Wagons BRC Challenge in Grande Prairie, AB on June 19th & 20th and the Grenfell, SK Bull-A-Rama on June 20th. Four BRC Sanctioned events take place in Eastern Canada in June.

Visit for the full schedule and event details.


BRC Inc. 2015 Standings up to and including New Sarepta, AB June 12th, 2015

Place Contestant Hometown Money Won Points Earned
1st Brian Hervey Brant, AB $14,260.00 2750
2nd Josh Birks Coonamble, NSW, Aust $18,266.00 2005
3rd Landon Lockhart Brandon, MB $5,133.00 1160
4th Casey Berg Wainwright, AB $5,071.00 1055
5th Tyler Pankewitz Ponoka, AB $3,930.00 1035
6th Cory Perry Strathmore, AB $4,203.00 970
7th Cody Coverchuk Meadow Lake, SK $4,315.00 940
8th Devon Mezei Big Valley, AB $5,297.00 895
9th Shay Marks Sunnybrook, AB $4,357.00 870
10th Miles Pennington Stettler, AB $3,675.00 765
11th Cole Young Fairview, AB $1,701.00 760
12th Ken Siemens Fort St. John, BC $3,649.00 755
13th Jake Wilson Cargo, Australia $941.00 745
14th Garrett Green Meeting Creek, AB $2,835.00 580
15th Armando Davila Satillo Coahuila, Mex $1,935.00 570
16th Tim Lipsett Lumsden, SK $627.00 555
17th Wacey Finkbeiner Ponoka, AB $1,597.00 525
18th Zane Lambert Westbourne, MB $3,579.00 510
19th Wacey Anderson Naicam, SK $2,729.00 505
20th Steve Maddison Carman, MB $3,325.00 495
21st Logan Biever Claresholm, AB $2,892.00 490
22nd Kyle Primeau Gwynne, AB $2,053.00 420
23rd Lane Cork Quesnel, BC $1,613.00 410
24th Levi Lawlor Quesnel, BC $1,108.00 400
25th Reid Lozier 150 Mile House, BC $2,760.00 390
26th Cooper Zur Lundbreck, AB $2,425.00 380
27th Shaun Greenhough Penticton, BC $2,409.00 370
27th Flint Vayro Whitewood, SK $769.00 370
29th Jacob Stahl Clive, AB $1,671.00 350
30th Wyatt Gleeson Sundre, AB $826.00 290