In a highly anticipated $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Championship final heat at the Ponoka Stampede, Evan Salmond, Jason Glass, Kurt Bensmiller and Kirk Sutherland survived the semi-final round and would run for the championship at one of chuckwagon racing’s most prestigious events on the WPCA Pro Tour – the Ponoka Stampede. On one of the most exciting race nights of the year, Kirk Sutherland - driving the EMCO Corporation outfit, and along with outriders Chance Flad and Chanse Vigen collected the first place winners cheque and the 2015 Ponoka Stampede Championship.

2015 Ponoka Stampede Champions
EMCO Corporation Outfit

L-R: Miss Ponoka Stampede Ashley Ackermann, Outrider Chanse Vigen,
TrailBlazer RV Centre's Kim Graham, Outrider Chance Flad,
Driver Kirk Sutherland, Ponoka Stampede President Mike Stretch 
Photo By Billy Melville


In a penalty free championship final heat, Sutherland captured his first career Ponoka crown with a penalty free run of 1:15.21 from barrel position number 4. 1998 Ponoka Stampede Champion Jason Glass placed second in the heat from barrel position number 3,  18 one-hundredths of a second behind champion Kirk Sutherland, followed by Evan Salmond and defending champion Kurt Bensmiller from barrel positions 1 and 2 respectively.

Read More at the link below  from