Dolly Parton Reveals ‘Pure & Simple’ Track List and Cover Art

Photo courtesy Webster PR

Photo courtesy Webster PR


 LAUREN LAFFER • Wide Open Country



Today, Dolly Parton revealed the track-listing and cover art for her highly-anticipated upcoming studio album, Pure & Simple. The announcement coincides with Parton’s new joint venture with Sony Music Nashville, who will distribute the new project worldwide.

“I may not be pure, but I’m as simple as they come! This new ‘Pure & Simple’ project is really special to me because I’m taking my fans back to my roots. I feel like these songs have a pure, tender side and we didn’t go overboard with arrangements. I’m so glad we’ve teamed up with our friends at Sony to get this album out to the fans,” said the icon.

As part of the new endeavor, the project will be released via Dolly Records/RCA Nashville and marketed internationally by Sony Music Masterworks.


Left to right: Doug Morris, CEO Sony Music Entertainment; Dolly Parton; and, Danny Nozell, CEO CTK Management; Photo courtesy Webster PR

“Dolly Parton is a national treasure and an iconic singer/songwriter,” said Doug Morris, CEO, Sony Music Entertainment. “We are thrilled to be expanding our successful relationship with her through this new global agreement. We are very proud to call her a member of the Sony Music family.”

“This is a special reunion for Dolly, RCA Nashville and for me personally,” added Randy Goodman, Chairman and CEO, Sony Music Nashville. “Our entire Sony Music Nashville team is elated. We have a firm foundation of Dolly’s incredible catalog of hits on RCA Nashville as well as Columbia Nashville.”

Dolly Parton’s Pure & Simple will be released on August 19 as a two-disc set, with the first disc featuring the 12-track Pure & Simple project and the second disc featuring Parton’s Glastonbury Live Set from 2014.

Fans can pre-order Pure & Simple HERE.

Pure & Simple Tracklist (CD1)
1. Pure and Simple
2. Say Forever You’ll Be Mine
3. Never Not Love You
4. Kiss It (And Make It All Better)
5. Can’t Be That Wrong
6. Outside Your Door
7. Tomorrow is Forever
8. I’m Sixteen
9. Head Over High Heels
10. Forever Love
11. Mama
12. Lovin’ You

Live From Glastonbury Tracklist (CD2)
1. Fire Medley: Baby I’m Burning / Great Balls of Fire / This Girl Is On Fire
2. Why’d You Come in Here Lookin’ Like That
3. Jolene
4. Blue Smoke
5. Coat of Many Colors
6. Rocky Top
7. Mud Song
8. Banks of the Ohio
9. Here You Come Again
10. Two Doors Down
11. Islands in the Stream
12. 9 to 5
13. Lay Your Hands On Me (Featuring Richie Sambora)
14. I Will Always Love You